babycribz

Welcome to this fun and inspiring resource, here for you to share and be inspired.

A little project for Ava’s room….

So we inherited a pretty old chest of drawers from my mother in law and it served a great purpose in Ava’s room (she’s nearly 2!) for all her vests, socks, Pj’s and blankies. It was a mahogany veneer 4 drawer dresser. It housed all her bits with lots of junk thrown on top and the bottom drawer needing some TLC. Here was the piece in question…. IMG_4422[1]   IMG_4424[1]   So you can see, it was in need of a little work.  I’d heard and read great things about “chalk” paint and really loved the look of all the colours available and fancied a little “project”.  I got some tester pots for some wooden letters but in the end opted for French Linen in the Annie Sloan range. I purchased it locally in a little shop in Ennis, Co. Clare called Sonoma. I LOVE that place!! I also purchased some super cool knobs to complete the look. And here it is…….   IMG_4540[1]         And with curtains pulled….. IMG_4539[1]   This little plastic frame from Ikea was totally transformed too…0114861_PE267810_S3 IMG_4541[1]

I used “Duck Egg Blue” for the Ikea frame. I also snatched this little beauty in Sonoma but painted it “Antoinette” as it was practically the same colour as French Linen. IMG_4542[1]   IMG_4427[1]

Here are some more colours available in Sonoma… 1013432_534048036656917_1185188729_n

All the paint work is finished off with a coat of the light wax.  Hey presto…..easy peasy! I suggested chalk painting our 3-year-old painted kitchen cabinets in a grey colour but “himself” is having none of it!  (We’ll see who wins that battle!)

So any plans for making over any old furniture?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “A little project for Ava’s room….

  1. Joanna on said:

    The knobs are really cool! I recently painted up some old units that I’ve put on the long finger for 3 years. I kind of wish I’d been adventurous enough to use the chalk paint now instead of gloss, yours looks great. I love the gloss look but I chose cream and I think the colour is just too boring!

    • I know, they’re fab aren’t they. I’d totally use them in our room! (Ive a blanket box thats in need of some love!)
      That’s the beauty of the chalk paint…you can paint it on any surface without priming or treating it before hand! Show a pic of your pieces….bet they’re fab!

  2. Caroline bolton on said:

    That’s lovely the girls room is next to be refurbished I was looking at their lockers wishing they were a different colour, you’ve inspired me. Leave your kitchen alone it’s too young and not damaged enough from trikes etc yet, mine starting to fall apart lol

Leave a Reply

